beef bourguignon

I only had one lecture today, Latin, from 11am – 12pm. It’s an hour bus journey from Leamington to campus, and even though there was snow, there definitely wasn’t enough this morning for me to pretend that I couldn’t get in! (Obviously, not that I’d actually do that…) So I left to get the bus as usual, and got in fine. I hadn’t quiiite managed to pre-prepare the translation, but734339_10151305344038153_1365263848_n we did read that famous line: “timeo Danaos et dona ferentis”. 

But the snow got much heavier, and eventually all the buses back to Leamington were cancelled…leaving people stranded?! I’m pretty lucky because my friend has her car at uni so we drove back, but it wasn’t exactly an easy journey. We finished lectures at 12pm, and got home at 3pm. The traffic was so slow! And walking down the Parade to my house wasn’t great either, I was slipping everywhere, and my hat kept falling down over my eyes at unexpected times 😦 Plus I was carrying the ingredients for beef bourguignon, and having such important cargo was making me even more nervous about an imminent fall! If I’d seen myself, I’d probably have laughed. I need grippier shoes I think. And a hat that doesn’t have elastic in it, because I think that was probably what made my hat slip down continually!!

All in all, it definitely wasn’t worth the journey in. My advice? Do not go out in the Midlands snow to see this:DSCF7063


I’d much rather stay in, simply for this:

(I mean, I don’t want to sound whiney. I know Sweden puts up with this sort of weather every year and just gets on with it, but…the walk down the Parade was pretty treacherous!)

Ingredients

  • Stewing steak, diced
  • Bacon, roughly chopped
  • Mushrooms, roughly sliced
  • One carrot, finely sliced
  • One white onion, finely sliced
  • 2 salad tomatoes, quartered
  • 2 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 250ml red wineDSCF7071
  • 200ml beef stock
  • Dried or fresh thyme, to taste
  • Baby new potatoes
  • Plain flour, to dust
  • Salt and pepper
  • Butter
  • Olive oil

Method

  1. Dust the stewing steak, diced into large pieces, in plain flour. Fry it in a little oil and butter in a heavy casserole dish, until browned.
  2. Remove to a plate. To the casserole dish, add the carrots and mushrooms. Brown them lightly then when golden, remove to a plate.
  3. Fry the large sliced onion, with the sliced bacon. When they are soft, return the beef to the pan with the crushed garlic, the tomatoes, 2 bay leaves, thyme to taste, the red wine and 200ml of stock. Season and simmer for around 60-90 minutes, until DSCF7073the meat is tender. Return the mushrooms and carrots and continue cooking for 15-20 minutes.
  4. Once the mushrooms have been returned to the pan, boil baby new potatoes in salted water. When tender, drain and return to the pan with a knob of butter. Season, and then lightly mash with a fork, breaking the potato skins, creating a ‘smash’ effect. Serve with the beef bourguignon, to soak up all the delicious gravy!

 

4 thoughts on “beef bourguignon

  1. Hi Louise

    Hope this works as a reply!

    Made this last Sunday when the snow was falling and it was really really cold..absolutely fabulous and so delicious!

    Thanks for the inspiration

    Julie x

Food for Thought...

